Painting animals

Painting Herons

Hey everyone! While Elizabeth was painting her wolf, I was working on painting a heron! A great blue heron to be precise. I got the idea from a great blue heron that lives in a pond by my house.

First I started with the outline of the heron and the first layer of the background.

img_2601.jpg

After forgetting to take more step-by-step pictures, I went straight to the wing, head, and part of the body.

img_2610.jpg

Then, I painted the neck and had too much fun with the feathers.

IMG_2614

IMG_2619

After that, I added more detail to the neck.

img_2624.jpg

Finally, I completed the face.

img_2626.jpg

That’s all for now! I love painting birds, so if you have any bird-related painting suggestions, I’d love to hear them. Keep on the lookpout for new posts!

~Elizabeth and Kathleen

5 thoughts on “Painting Herons

Leave a Reply

