Uncategorized

5 Things We Love About Being Artists

Hi everyone! I though I would share with you all the five reasons why I love being an artist. Before we get into that though, we should define what an artist is. We could go with the Google definition, “a person who produces paintings or drawings as a profession or hobby,” or even, “a person who practices any of the various creative arts, such as a sculptor, novelist, poet, or filmmaker.” I like the second one better, but let’s make our own definition. I think that an artist is anyone who channels their emotions into creating something that you can experience, whether it be a song, a story, or a painting. Hey, even food could be considered an art form.

My favorite example of this is The Scream by Edvard Munch. He said, “I was walking down the road with two friends when the sun set; suddenly, the sky turned as red as blood. I stopped and leaned against the fence, feeling unspeakably tired. Tongues of fire and blood stretched over the bluish black fjord. My friends went on walking, while I lagged behind, shivering with fear. Then I heard the enormous infinite scream of nature.” Munch felt the need to express his feeling of fear in his painting and you can see it in the continuous red moving lines across the sky and the expression on the screaming person.

But we’re getting off-topic.

5. It’s relaxing.

Really. Sure there are some projects that are stressful (I just can’t get to other eye to match!), but most of the time, painting really helps me unwind and think. Sometimes I listen to music, or sometimes I create in silence with just my thoughts for company, but bottom line, art is relaxing.

4. No one can make art like yours.

If you don’t see the book you want on the shelves, write it.

Beverly Cleary

I find this quote really inspiring. It honestly applies to anything you create. No one can paint/draw [insert your subject here] like you can. Take Starry Night for example. Vincent van Gogh painted it in 1889 an no one can paint it the same way. Sure there are replicas, but those have the style that the artist who created them has.

3. Being your own boss

This is one of the coolest things about being an artist. You don’t have someone telling you what to do, no one piling paperwork on your desk saying it needs to be done by Friday. You set your own rules (or don’t have any at all :P). You decide what you want to create. Want to paint those adorable ducklings swimming in the pond outside your house? Go for it! Feeling upset and want to scribble to let it out? By all means! Nothing is holding you back from doing what you want to do.

2. It’s challenging.

Okay, this sort of contradicts #10. Being an artist can be relaxing, but it can also be challenging. Usually, the harder the project, the bigger the satisfaction of completing it. After all, the Sistine Chapel wasn’t painted in one day (actually, it took Michelangelo about four years to finish it…) This also sort of ties into being your own boss. You don’t have any pressure to finish a project (unless its a commission, but I tend to steer clear of those.)

1. Boredness is virtually nonexistent.

Seriously. Have a long commute to work on the city bus and want to pass time? Break out that sketchbook and doodle!  If its pouring rain and there’s nothing to do, try out that calligraphy set you got for Christmas! In short, if you’re an artist, there are so many things you can do to keep yourself busy, you won’t have time to be bored.

Bonus: I get to blog and share my art with everyone!

I love sharing my art with people. In fact, if you haven’t read our 100 visitors post, I recommend you go do that. There you can see exactly how and why Kathleen and I started blogging.

Well that’s all for now. Keep on the lookout for new posts!

~Elizabeth and Kathleen

 

 

One thought on “5 Things We Love About Being Artists

  1. You have presented an very well written analysis of the “why” of art. I believe that people–all people–are hard-wired to be creative. How that creativity is expressed is very individual. I have another quote to support your last contention:

    “The cure for boredom is curiosity. There is no cure for curiosity.”–Dorothy Parker

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

