Recipes

Making Green Smoothies

Hey everybody! I’m still working on the Visiting the Carnegie Museum of Natural History and Art~ Part 3, so here’s another post to hold you over until I finish :). Feel free to check out Parts 1 and 2! I’ve been wanting a tasty, healthy way to have breakfast for a while (I’ve been eating Kashi Heart-to-Heart cereal, (which is pretty good for you) when I stumbled upon this idea of “green smoothies.”

I’ve heard of people blending hearty greens with fruit into smoothies before, which is the basic concept of green smoothies, but I had never tried it myself until last week when I made myself one for breakfast. I have to admit, it’s not bad.

Keep in mind, this is how I made my green smoothie. There are tons of other equally good recipes out there. You can add other fruits, use different leafy greens, or a different liquid base if you want :D. I suggest the 60:40 ratio- 60% fruits, 40% leafy greens.Here’s a recipe to go along with those numbers.

Things you’ll need

  • 2 cups of kale (or spinach, bok choy, dandelion greens, etc.)
  • 2 cups of water (or coconut water/milk or almond milk)
  • 3 cups of frozen strawberries (if you want it cold. You can use basically any other fruit you want.)
  • Protein powder (optional)

Step 1: Measuring is your friend when it comes to making green smoothies for the first time. Measure out your leafy greens and liquid base and put those in your blender. You may need to mix several times before the leafy chunks smooth out.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Step 2: Add your fruits and blend it up!. I like my smoothies cold, so I used frozen strawberries. You can do the same with other fruits or even to your leafy greens if you want uber-chilly smoothies.

DSC00830.JPG

DSC00831

DSC00834.JPG

Step 3: Pour into glasses and enjoy! If you have any extra, you can store it in a covered container for up to two days. Don’t forget to shake well before opening :P.

If you want to super-charge your smoothies you can add other fruits, greens, seeds, or protein powder. I wanted a little extra kick, so I added about half a scoop of vanilla protein powder.

I really liked it. Kathleen wasn’t a huge fan. It definitely tastes healthy. You can always mess with the formula to suit your individual tastes. Maybe go heavier on the fruit if you want a sweeter smoothie, or add a bit of sugar if its too sour for you.

Tell us what you think. If you need a little more help (or just want to read more about green smoothies) I recommend checking out the 100 Days of Real Food blog. It has a ton of awesome health food tips and tricks to help you eat clean and healthy.

That’s it! Keep on the lookout Visiting the Carnegie Museum of Natural History and Art~ Part 3!

~Elizabeth and Kathleen

4 thoughts on “Making Green Smoothies

Leave a Reply

