Painting animals

Painting Owls

Hey everyone! So Kathleen and I had another paint-a-thon yesterday (after we went to Wal-mart and stocked up on canvases) and I painted an owl! Who doesn’t like owls? They keep the rodent population down and send messages for wizards in Harry Potter (Hedwig!).

So, as usual, I started out with a sketch of the painting. Really, though, they’re just a brief outline.

img_11361.jpg

Then, I covered the whole thing in peach-colored paint :O and painted that over with white. I went through a lot of white paint in this project. I know he looks like a macaroni-and-cheese bird, but bear with me.

img_11441.jpg

I forgot to take pictures of these steps, but I painted the little brown feathers, the black feather line, the beak, and the eye. Then I began on the body feathers.

img_11451.jpg

After I finished the body feathers, however, I realized that I didn’t like them, so I painted over them with my trusty Daler Rowney white paint and redid them in the same style as the facial feathers. I also added some burnt sienna feathers and peach/yellow ocher/white feathers.

img_11531.jpg

Ahhh, much better.

That’s all for now! Keep on the lookout for the next post where we’ll feature the painting that Kath did during our paint-a-thon :).

~Elizabeth and Kathleen

2 thoughts on “Painting Owls

Leave a Reply

