Photography

Photographing Sunsets

Hey everyone! Wow, I can’t believe it’s Friday already! This week just seemed to blow past me.

Anyway, you know what I really like? The night. I’m just so creative when the sun goes down. As one of our longtime followers put it:

I think the mind floats at night when the activities of the day are done and the world is quiet. The subconscious thoughts are able to surface to the conscious and these are the source of creativity.

Well said.

In addition to nighttime, I really like dusk, that period of time in which the sun had just about set, but its still light out. Kathleen and I were out and about around this time and I saw the most beautiful sunset over the lake.

Now, if you’ve never taken pictures at dusk, let me tell you, it’s not easy. We’re so used to the sun traveling across the sky that we don’t ever really take time and appreciate just how quickly it actually moves. You only have about two minutes to get the shot you want before its gone, and its never coming back.

I thought I would share with you the few pictures I got before the sun set and we went back inside.

DSC00594.JPG

DSC00590.JPG

After this we had a campfire and turned in. It was a long day. This was a ridiculously philosophical post, wasn’t it? What are your favorite types of day? Let us know in the comments section and keep on the lookout for new posts!

~Elizabeth and Kathleen

3 thoughts on “Photographing Sunsets

Leave a Reply

