Paint techniques

Abstract Art Part 2

Hey everyone! So today I woke up really early this morning (like half an hour early…) and couldn’t go back to sleep, so I though, blogging time! So Kathleen told you that I would show you my second piece of abstract art, so I will. Here we go.

Now, if you don’t remember (and I don’t blame you if you don’t. It was two weeks ago. I can hardly remember what I had for lunch yesterday,) I told you in Painting Orcas that I probably was going to paint over it, so I did. When I told my dad that I had painted my next abstract over my orca, he said that it would be like the Mona Lisa in the fact that when they do an X-ray of it, they’ll find another painting underneath.

Wait, what? The Mona Lisa was painted over something else? Actually, yes, but we need to get to my painting so I recommend you search it up :).

So the first thing I did was paint little swatches or orange and green on the canvas.

dsc00507.jpg

Then I added yellow and blue.

dsc00508.jpg

After than, I add little lines of silver.

dsc00509.jpg

And you’re done! In short, the order in which I applied the colors are orange, green, yellow, blue, and silver. You can really do this painting with any colors and in any pattern you’d like. Again, if you have any recommendations about what you wanted us to paint, let us know in the comments section. Keep on the lookout for new posts!
~Elizabeth and Kathleen

6 thoughts on “Abstract Art Part 2

  1. My comment was that I never tried abstract painting myself, but find it interesting that you are exploring it. Do you see it as a way to work with color and pattern or are you trying to express an emotion?

    Like

    1. It really depends on the day, to be honest. My previous abstract art was to express an emotion. This one, on the other hand, is more about working with colors and patterns. I’ve been meaning to work with warmer colors lately, so that’s what prompted me to do this painting.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been thinking–this particular painting could lend itself to a quilt project–all the color blocks and silver slash. We will need to explore integrating your abstracts paintings and me translating them to fiber art.

    Like

Leave a Reply

