Painting animals

Painting Orcas

Hey everyone! I know that in the last post Kathleen said that we would be showing you some art from the Dickinson College, but we’re super busy today, so that’s going to have to wait a few days :). We haven’t done many paintings lately, though, so I thought I would show you my latest one. This new one was just a quick painting I did in the late hours of the night and I’ll probably end up painting over it, but I just wanted to share it with you.

Dubbed the sea wolf; the killer whale; the grampus; the genus Orcinus. The killer whale is an apex predator (meaning they’re at the top of the food chain.) Their only predators are humans. While being called “killer” whales, orcas have never killed a human in the wild.

Anyway, on to the painting.

dsc00209.jpg

I started it by painting the ocean. I mixed blue with a little bit of black to get a sort of navy color. Then I painted the sky with a lighter blue to contrast the water.

dsc00210.jpg

Then I added the orca with its head coming up out of the water. (This is when it’s helpful to have some really opaque white paint.)

DSC00214

That’s it. I most likely will paint over it because I want to do some sort of warm painting. (I don’t usually use warmer colors very often, so that’ll be fun.) What do you guys think? I really need some good ideas. If all else fails, I’ll probably do some sort of abstract with warm colors.

That’s all for now! Keep on the lookout for new posts!

~Elizabeth and Kathleen

3 thoughts on “Painting Orcas

Leave a Reply

