Paint techniques

How I Started Painting

Hey everyone! I’m feeling nostalgic this week. I mean, you read about our origin story a few posts ago, and now I want to show you how I got started painting. For my birthday last year, I got this painting set that came with three pre-sketched canvas boards and two blank canvas boards.

Here’s a link to the website where you can purchase a similar set to the one I got: http://www.spiceboxbooks.com/assorted-artists/

At first, I was like, “Whoa, a paint set?” And then at closer examination, “Whoa a really  nice paint set.”

Naturally, it sat in my closet for a good six months because I didn’t want to ruin it. But one day of unrelenting boredom made me break open the paints and start. (Are you noticing the trend here? Boredom = some crazy idea that I may or may not choose to advance upon.)

The first one I did was a harbor scene. In this painting, I was supposed to focus on the boats and their reflections in the water.

DSC09648.JPG

As you can see, I didn’t do a very good job of it ;). The best reflection I think this painting has is under the red boat.

The next painting I did was a still-life. This is definitely one of my better ones. This is the first painting I did where I started using white paint to add a ‘gleam’ to the subjects.

DSC09649.JPG

It took me about seven tries to get the green bell pepper just right.

The very last pre-sketched canvas board painting I did was of a country hillside. If you look hard, you can see the little people in the fields. As I’ve said in earlier posts, people are very difficult for Kathleen and I to do, so in the painting, the people consist of three dots. One dot is the clothing, another dot is the face, and the third dot is the hat.

DSC09647.JPG

The last two canvas board the kit came with were blank. Here’s one of them.

DSC09650.JPG

It’s a stag. I particularly enjoyed doing the antlers. I’m not 100% sure it’s done though, so we’ll have to see…

My last painting was a total wing-it project. I honestly just had the bug that told me to PAINT NOW, so I did. I slapped on some blue paint as a background, and then I thought, Hmm, blue. I like Harry Potter. What in Harry Potter is blue? Ravenclaw!

DSC09757.JPG

Thus, I painted the Ravenclaw ‘R’ and part of the house motto. Ravenclaw is my Hogwarts House. Kathleen is Gryffindor. Harry Potter for life!

Sorry for the short post. I’m very scatterbrained today (I love that word… Scatterbrained.) Also tomorrow night is the Mandolin Orange concert, yay! I probably write about that, but the post won’t be published until the late afternoon/evening. That’s all for now! Keep on the lookout for new posts!

~Elizabeth and Kathleen

Leave a Reply

