Painting animals

Painting Ocean Life

Hi everyone! So a few days ago, Elizabeth showed you her first watercolor painting (click here if you haven’t read that yet.) Now I’m going to show you come of my watercolors.

I use these really cool “tank” paintbrushes. These brushes actually hold water in a little barrel so I don’t always have to have water on hand. They come with a variety of tips. To get the water out, all you need to do is squeeze the little barrel and the tip dampens. The harder you squeeze, the more water comes out.

My main subjects of my watercolor paintings has been ocean life (kind of ironic. “ocean” life and “water” colors.) The first watercolor painting I did was of a beta fish.

dsc09768

I just love how the colors blend slightly as they dry. Not enough to look murky, but enough so it covers the whole fish.

My next painting is of a blue tang. If you don’t know what that is, I suggest you go watch Finding Nemo or Finding Dory a few times. Dory is a blue tang.

DSC09771.JPG

My third painting ties in perfectly to the whole “Finding Nemo” and “Finding Dory” thing, since it’s a clown fish.

DSC09772.JPG

It’s like I had Finding Dory on the brain when I painted these, since my next painting is of an octopus who looks remarkably like Hank from Finding Dory. [Image courtesy of http://babesindisneylandblog.com/2016/06/7-fun-facts-about-hank/%5D

Image result for hank finding dory fan art
Hank and Dory
Octopus painting.PNG
Octopus in the Deep

See? Okay, not that similar, I guess. Plus, Hank is technically a septopus, not an octopus (he has seven tentacles.)

Okay, we’re getting off topic. To complete my ocean life collection, I painted a jellyfish.

DSC09776.JPG

That’s all the “under”watercolor paintings for now! Please let me know which one is your favorite and if I should continue painting in watercolors! Keep on the lookout for new posts!

~Elizabeth and Kathleen

4 thoughts on “Painting Ocean Life

Leave a Reply

