Drawings

Drawing Dragons

Hi everyone! As you all know, Kathleen and I use reference photos when we sketch out our paintings before we paint them. I use reference photos for my drawings as well. Well, before I used reference photos, I used step-by-step drawing books. I thought I would share with you a few of my drawings and the books I used.

My best drawings came from a book called “Dragonart: How to Draw Fantastic Dragons and Fantasy Creatures. If you’re interested in the book, click here.

I drew an eastern dragon, a western dragon, and various dragon limbs.

DSC00136.JPG
Western Dragon

This is the dragon that most people think of when the think “dragon.” Kind of like a winged dinosaur.

 

dsc00138
Eastern Dragon

This is the dragon people associate with good fortune and luck. Its one of the “good” dragons.

DSC00139.JPG

And here are some various limbs.

That’s all! Just though I share some old drawings with you guys! Hope you enjoyed it. The next two posts will feature our trip to an amazingly artistic cafe and the Illinois State Museum (the art gallery.) So as always, leave your thoughts in the comments section below and keep on the lookout for new posts!

~Elizabeth and Kathleen

3 thoughts on “Drawing Dragons

  1. This is an interesting study on the different species of dragons. I know we had the discussion regarding the differences between Asian dragons and European dragons. How you found any that shape-shift into people? The isolated drawings of their anatomy is reminiscent of Di Vinci’s anatomy drawings.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

