Photography

Photographing Water Droplets

Hey everybody! This is our first post about photography! I’ve been wanting to do a photography post for a while, but I wasn’t sure what I was going to take a picture of… Then I came to the 2 A.M. conclusion that I was going to take a picture of falling water.

I mean, water is such a versatile subject. For one, you’re never going to get the same picture twice, and two, water’s everywhere.

What could go wrong with this idea? Look at some pictures of water that my dad took with the same camera:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

That was our trip to Niagara Falls last year (during Thanksgiving :P).
Anyway, I had the camera set up on the tripod, exactly where I wanted it, and the tap set so only one drop at a time came out… and then my camera battery died. Of course.
I did manage to get one picture though, before the little words flashed across the screen, “Battery exhausted.”
dsc09957-3
Okay, so, after I waited an hour for the battery to charge, I continued. There isn’t really any good way to do this except have patience (and a study tripod :P.)
That one, I think, is the best out of all of them. Go figure.
Here are a couple of the better ones:

That’s all of the good ones. I honestly think I got really lucky, considering that some other others looked like this:

Well, the first one’s not too bad…

Anyway, what did you think of my first foray into the world of photography? Should I stick with it, or go back to painting? Any suggestions  on what I should photography next? (personally, I’m leaning toward a picture of out rabbit, Cocoa Beans…)

That’s all for now! Keep on the lookout for new posts!
~Elizabeth and Kathleen
5 thoughts on “Photographing Water Droplets

  1. I really like the one drop at a time approach to water photography. When you study chemistry you will learn about hydrogen bonds. These hold the water molecules together and give water the unique properties you captured in your photos. The dome of water that curves over the top of a glass is another interesting thing hydrogen bonds make. It would also make a fascinating photo study.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

