Drawings

The Boy Who Lived

Mr. and Mrs. Dursely, of number four, Privet Drive, were proud to day that they were perfectly normal, thank you very much. They were the last people you’d expect to be involved in anything strange or mysterious, because they just didn’t hold with such nonsense.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, J.K. Rowling

Ah, the first paragraph of the first book that started it all. The theme park, the movies, the play… and today’s drawing! Harry Potter: The Chosen One.

Image result for harry potter but i am the chosen one gif

[GIF courtesy of http://mrwgifs.com/but-im-the-chosen-one-harry-potter-gif/%5D

In the last post, Painting Tigers, I said that I had a Harry Potter drawing planned. (I also said that it wouldn’t be in the next post :P.) It took me over eight hours (many of them late into the night) to draw Harry Potter and I’m happy to say that it was all worth it.

Let’s jump right into it, shall we?

IMG_1010.jpg

I started with a blank head. The light is hitting the right side of the face (his left, our right.) Then, I started on some of the other facial details.

IMG_1011.jpg

There’s the eyeball! Next, I added his right glasses frame (again, his left, our right.)

IMG_1012.jpg

Apologies to those of you trying this at home, I have a very unorthodox way of drawing. Next, the other glasses frame!

IMG_1018.jpg

And the eye :)!

IMG_1019.jpg

Sorry for the slightly blurry picture. I took this on my phone at about twelve AM :P. Then, I added Harry’s lightning-bolt scar and his hair! (Thankfully, Harry’s hair is very messy, so it’s forgiving if you make a small mistake.)

img_1024

I found that the best way to do the little hair wisps is to use a thin mechanical pencil.

There you are! Harry Potter! As always, we love to hear from you! Keeping with our Harry Potter-ness, tell use what your Hogwarts House is! I’m in Ravenclaw, and Kathleen is in Gryffindor. Keep on the lookout for new posts!

~Elizabeth and Kathleen

9 thoughts on “The Boy Who Lived

  1. Great work! I’d consider it a major accomplishment to be able to make the blank head. Alas my drawing ability only extends to primitive ascii art. Look, a fish! >

    Like

Leave a Reply

