Painting animals

Painting Giraffes

Hi everyone! A few posts ago, we discussed painting okapis. If you didn’t get to read it, here’s the link: [Painting Okapis]

So today, we’re going to be painting the okapi’s distant relative: the giraffe! [image courtesy of pixabay.com]

giraffe-1081750_640.jpg

AKA: the camel-leopard.

What? What did you say? Camel-leopard?

Yes. For a while, giraffes were known as camel-leopards because people believed that they were a combination of a camel and a leopard. If you’ve ever wondered what the iconic hair-covered horns giraffes have are called, look no further. They are called ossicones [ossi-konez]. Male giraffes use their horns to spar, throwing their neck against each other.

[Info courtesy of http://animals.sandiegozoo.org/animals/giraffe%5D

Fun. I was searching up reference photos for my painting, and I came across one that was super funny, so I decided to use it. Here’s the sketched out painting:

DSC09695.JPG

As in all of my paintings, I began with the background. In this case, it was blue mixed with white paint.

DSC09745.JPG

Then, I added the base colors. The colors a a mix of yellow ocher, burnt sienna, brown, and white.

DSC09747.JPG

After that, I painted in the rest of the giraffe with a mix or yellow ocher and burnt sienna. I also shaded in the ears a bit and chose the color I wanted for the spots. The spot color is brown mixed with burnt sienna.

DSC09749.JPG

Next, spots! I also darkened the left ear a bit. (Our left, the giraffe’s right.)

dsc09754

The last thing I did was fill in the eyes, add a little gleam with white paint, and I’m done!

DSC09756.JPG

Looks like a grumpy giraffe, doesn’t he?

That’s all there is to it! Keep on the lookout for the third new painting!

~Elizabeth and Kathleen

4 thoughts on “Painting Giraffes

  1. You continue to amaze me! I am happy to say your “early” artwork is now on easels, and adorns the “apartment”. I see them every morning! Love your blog – love being educated about the animal kingdom!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

